Dessert Pierogies

I had a rare day to myself this weekend and spent the day cooking up a storm in the kitchen. By the end of the day, I had an entire freezer full of food, little energy left, and was more than ready to sit down to dinner and a glass of wine. At this point however, the idea of cleaning up my mess and pulling out new ingredients to make my dinner seemed daunting. All around me were the remainders of my pierogie making marathon, including a little leftover dough but no filling, so I decided to create a new filling and make that my dinner. So glad I did!

Cinnamon and Dark Chocolate Dessert Pierogies
Cinnamon and Dark Chocolate Dessert Pierogies

Suddenly feeling a new wave of energy and a little excitement, I filled the leftover dough with small chopped pieces of a Lindt dark chocolate bar and fingers crossed, I dropped them into a pot of boiling water. Once they popped up, I removed them from the water and set them aside to dry a little on some parchment paper while I heated a few tablespoons of butter in a hot skillet. When the butter was sizzling, I slipped a few pierogies into the pan, sprinkled them with cinnamon, and cooked them to a beautiful golden crispy brown. The smell in the kitchen was heavenly. I plated them, dusted with some icing sugar, and sampled. Delicious! The warm cinnamon taste hit my tongue first and then the crisp wrapper broke and I could taste the warm liquid dark chocolate inside: a perfect pairing with my glass of red wine. After my first bite, I quickly snapped a picture with my phone and then sat down and slowly enjoyed a few more.

So while I hate to admit I had dessert for dinner, I’m happy to say I played in the kitchen and found what will no doubt be a new favourite dessert in our house whenever we make pierogies. Never be afraid to play in the kitchen.

Leave a Reply

